When you send an email with Email Tracking enabled, Membrain embeds an invisible one-pixel image into the email once it is sent. When your recipient views the email and the images load, you will receive a notification that the email has been opened. If the email contains a link and the recipient clicks on that link, Membrain will notify you of that.
Learn more on how to enable Email Tracking in this article Email Setup
YOU HAVE ENABLED EMAIL TRACKING BUT YOUR EMAILS DOESN'T SEEM TO GET TRACKED
If the recipient's email client doesn't allow the tracking pixel to load, Membrain will not be able to track the email open. Membrain tracking can be deactivated in the following situations:
- The recipient formats the email in plain text.
- The recipient's email client doesn't automatically download images.
- The recipient's corporate filter strips away all images for incoming emails.
If the recipient has a very strict spam filter where they block any images or link tracking from loading in emails, your tracked email could be filtered as spam. However, email tracking tools are common, and the majority of email clients will not view your email any differently than before.
Recipients email composer detects possible fraud attempt from your the sent email
If it occurs that the recipient's email composer alerts that a possible fraud has been detected from an email you've sent from Membrain, it most likely has to do with the IT security system (that the company your recipient works for is using) detecting the one-pixel tracking image from Membrain Mail. This is not unique to Membrains Email tracking and the same message would appear from any Tool that use Email tracking.
It is very rare that companies have this IT policy and can easily be prevented. Either you can turn off the Automatic Email Tracking in My Settings. Learn more on how to do that in this article: Email Setup
You can also keep the Automatic Email Tracking turned on, and disable it on specific emails that you suspect will detect the Tracking: