HELP CENTER

Membrain Help Center

Welcome
Prospects
Sales Projects
CRM
Email, Calendar & Tasks
Sales Analysis
Administration

Merge duplicate Companies or Contacts

Article last updated:

Its inevitable that you will sometimes find duplicate records in your companies and contacts data. Its easy to manage this by using the merge function found in Membrain. 

The Merge tool allows you to copy data from a source company/contact to a destination company/contact and then delete the source company/contact. No data in the destination will be overwritten as data will only be added to the destination if it does not already exist.

Or even better, avoid creating duplicates by quickly searching for an existing record before you create a new company or contact.  Type s on your keyboard and search the entire Membrain database. Then create your new record right from the search view. 

Merging Companies:

  1. Go to the company you want to copy information FROM (i.e. the Source Company)
  2. Click on the More option in the black toolbar.
  3. Select Merge with other Company
  4. You will now see two boxes. The box to the left is the source company and the box to the right shows you a list of companies you can merge data into, the destination company.
  5. Select the correct destination company in the right hand box.
  6. Review the information in both boxes and confirm that you are happy with your choice.
  7. Click Merge to copy the data from the source to the destination, the source will be deleted.

Merging Contacts:

  1. Go to the contact you want to copy information FROM (i.e. the Source Contact)
  2. Click on the More option in the top right.
  3. Select Merge Contact
  4. You will now see two boxes. The box to the left is the source contact and the box to the right shows you a list of contacts you can merge data into, the destination contact.
  5. Select the correct destination contact in the right hand box.
  6. Review the information in both boxes and confirm that you are happy with your choice.
  7. Click Merge to copy the data from the source to the destination, the source will be deleted

Merge_contacts.PNG

Some considerations:

  • You can only merge contacts who are related to the same company
  • Data will not be overwritten if the destination already has data in that field. EG. if there is a phone number in both contacts, the phone number in the destination contact will remain
  • Any labels from the source will be added to the destination's list of labels
  • Activities & Tasks will be copied from the source to the destination, and will populate the Activity Stream below the destination in the correct event order.